National Eligibility Entrance Test

The National Eligibility Entrance Test (NEET), formerly the All India Pre-Medical Test (AIPMT), is the qualifying test for MBBS and BDS programmes in Indian medical and dental colleges. It is conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA). Before NTA, which is an independent autonomous and self-sustained premier testing organisation, the test was conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE). The examination, which offers 90,000 seats in MBBS and BDS Colleges of India, is conducted in the month of May every year.

A candidate who wishes to study medical courses needs to have Physics, Chemistry, Biology / Biotechnology as their compulsory subjects in Class 10th and 12th and must have passed these subjects. The candidate has to show their passing certificate at the time of the counseling round. Marks in Mathematics are not considered in NEET-undergraduate exam (NEET-UG).

Other than undergraduate courses, NTA also administers NEET post-graduation (NEET-PG), an eligibility-cum-ranking examination prescribed as the single entrance examination for admission to various MD/MS and PG diploma courses.

Admission to the AIIMS, MBBS programme in 2023 will be made through the NEET 2023 test. NEET has been introduced to replace the AIIMS exam (National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test). Results from the NEET-UG are used to determine admission to MBBS and BDS programmes. The National Testing Agency administers this entrance test on a national basis each year. Candidates would be able to enrol in nine AIIMS institutions through this exam, including Bhopal, Raipur, Rishikesh, Jodhpur, etc.

The MBBS admission in JIPMER will also be offered on the basis of NEET scores. JIPMER MBBS Exam has been scrapped.